Nathan Littauer celebrates its 37th annual Candystriper/Jr. Volunteer awards

Nathan Littauer celebrates its 37th annual Candystriper/Jr. Volunteer awards

Nathan Littauer Hospital & Nursing celebrated its 37th annual Candystriper/Jr. Volunteer 2013 Awards Ceremony on Monday, September 9.  Taylor Gifford, a student at Mayfield High School, was the recipient of the Alice Paula Muskin Memorial Award.  

Taylor has volunteered in the Nursing Home since 2010.  She officially became a Candystriper this past summer.  The Alice Paula Muskin Award, established by Mr. & Mrs. Nathan J. Muskin in memory of their daughter, is given each year to a candystriper who demonstrates outstanding service, commitment and leadership. 

Laurence Kelly, President/CEO, addressed the volunteers stating, “There are different groups of volunteers; our Board of Directors, auxilians and jr. volunteers who continue the tradition of giving back to others.  You have started the tradition of giving back to your community at your age here at our hospital and nursing home.  In addition to the residents and patients, the staff also appreciates you giving of your time throughout the summer and some of you, I understand, choose to volunteer throughout the year.  Thank you!” 

Anita Beck, Auxiliary First Vice President, Susan McNeil, DVS, Rachel Johnson, Nursing Home Director of Recreation Therapy, Cathy Burek, RN, Supervisor, Nadine Gifford, RN, Nursing Home Supervisor, Carol Sleezer, Medical Library addressed the group regarding volunteering and thanked them for volunteering their time.

Mr. Kelly, Mrs. Beck, Mrs. McNeil, also presented Honorable Service Awards to Darcy Dunn, Jessie Brand, Raina Danylak, Emily Garrigan, and also presented to those present a certificate of appreciation and a gift on behalf of the hospital and nursing home.  

In addition to Taylor and the Honorable Awards recipients, 2013 candystripers and jr. volunteers include; Garrett Andrist, Kaylee Beddow, Felicia Benedict-Hillman, Alexandra Bielli, Abigail Blake, Kiersten chang, Jillian Chase, Caitlin Lawton, Sarah Lebel, Hayley Mellis, Jennifer Sprung, Megan Moore, Morgan Swedick, Sydney Towne.  

 In 2013, these young adults generously contributed approximately 700 hours to the hospital, nursing home and Camp SuperStarrs.

 The Auxiliary sponsors the annual event, which was chaired by Mona Capasso.  Mrs. Capasso also presented each jr. volunteer with a carnation.  The candystripers were treated to a pizza & wings party, and over 40 people attended the awards presentation in the auditorium which included candystripers, their families, hospital board members and auxilians, and a special guest, Nancy Muskin.  A special “thank you” cake was served.